Cheryl Tefft - Celtic Knots Unraveled - August through November

For more information, contact Cheryl Tefft: calligraphics@yahoo.com
John Neal Books is not hosting this class.
Registration links below.

Celtic Knots Unraveled
Taught by Cheryl Tefft
Multiple Dates

Have you ever wondered how those lovely, convoluted patterns of Celtic knots are made? Or do you understand the basics and now want to dig deeper? The process is actually fairly straightforward, and in this class, you’ll discover the secrets to tying and untying those knots easily! We will start from scratch, so NO previous experience is required.

We begin by learning how to draw Celtic knots based on a simple grid. Once you have a grasp on that process, we will build on what you have learned so far and continue on to cover more involved types of Celtic knots, such as double-ribbon knots, a Celtic cross, and a series of linked hearts. In the final stage of the course, we will learn to draw Celtic knots on a curve, leading to drawing the triquetra design, letters incorporating Celtic knots, and other variations and more complex shapes. Along the way we will cover options for adding color to your Celtic knots and turning them into finished projects. 

Prerequisite: NONE

When: (three weekly lessons in each complete session)

Session 1: Tuesdays, August 2 through August 16, 2022, 1:00 to 3:30 pm Eastern Daylight Time (12:00 noon to 2:30 pm CDT, or 11:00 am to 1:30 pm MDT, or 10:00 am to 12:30 pm PDT) Registration/information link for Session 1: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/338544364307

Session 2: Saturdays, August 20 through September 17, 2022 (no class August 27 or September 10), 10:30 am to 1 pm Eastern Daylight Time (9:30 am to 12 noon CDT, or 8:30 am to 11 am MDT, or 7:30 am to 10 am PDT) Registration/information link for Session 2: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/358415068117

Session 3: Tuesdays, November 1 through November 15, 2022, from 1 pm to 3:30 pm Eastern Time (12:00 noon to 2:30 pm CT, or 11:00 am to 1:30 pm MT, or 10 am to 12:30 pm PT) Registration/information link for Session 3: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/310208430767

Session 4: Tuesdays, November 1 through November 15, 2022, from 7:00 to 9:30 pm Eastern Time (6:00 to 8:30 pm CT, or 5:00 to 7:30 MT, or 4:00 to 6:30 pm PT) Registration/information link for Session 4: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/250829978217

This is a live small-group class with individual feedback, with recordings available afterward for all students enrolled.
Fee: $115

Supplies: 

Required items:
  • Pencil (mechanical type recommended) (PL21)
  • Eraser of your choice; click-style recommended (E06) (E22)
  • Pigma Micron fine-point marker, black, size 01 recommended (M17)
  • Grid paper, any kind (P22) or (P55)
  • Ruler, preferably cork-backed metal, at least 12" long (S270 or S271)
Optional items: (mostly, though not entirely, for an optional finished project, whenever you choose to do one [there probably won’t be time during class])
  • Some “good” paper—whatever kind(s) you like for finished projects that is translucent on a light pad, such as Arches Hot Press, either 90# or 140# (PA42, PS42, PS47), Stonehenge (PA110,PS110), Frankfurt (PS108, PS04) or Pergamenata (natural color recommended;  PA98-11, PA98-MIX. PS88)—a few sheets of letter-size paper will be sufficient
  • Light pad OR light box (S1013)
  • Artist’s/painter’s tape (S931) (S412)
  • Watercolors (preferred; any kind) (S609) (S1032) (S808) and/or colored pencils (PL28) (PL29) (PL05) and/or watercolor pencils (recommended to at least have a couple of bright colored pencils available during class, though watercolors are best for finished projects)
  • Small round (pointed) brush suitable for watercolors (only needed if using watercolors or watercolor pencils) -- 000 size recommended (BR26)
  • Rinse water with water container (S1005)
 
$2.40
Qty.
$10.50
Qty.
$4.69
Qty.
$7.99
Qty.
$11.03 $8.95
Qty.
$15.98 $11.95
Qty.
$6.60 $5.94
Qty.
$5.00 $4.15
Qty.
$5.90
Qty.
$10.35 $8.79
Qty.
$30.15 $27.14
Qty.
$7.50
Qty.