Cheryl Tefft - Filigree 2 - June 18 or June 28

For more information, contact Cheryl Tefft: calligraphics@yahoo.com
John Neal Books is not hosting this class.

Registration links below.

Filigree 2 Class
Taught by Cheryl Tefft

June 18 or June 28, 2022

Do you enjoy drawing traditional filigree patterns and want to dive deeper? Here we will cover more filigree patterns, plus PUZZLE LETTERS!

This class is a sequel to Filigree 1, so we will be going into greater depth in studying the traditional decorative techniques known as filigree, often used to "dress up" decorated capitals and create lovely borders in manuscripts and other fine art pieces from the Middle Ages to the current day. We will be expanding into additional filigree patterns and variations, and will also explore the mysteries of one of the most frequently seen decorative elements in historical manuscripts: the puzzle letter! (The techniques you will learn in this class have been slightly modernized for the 21st-century artist's approach and materials.)

PREREQUISITE: Filigree 1, OR prior familiarity with basic filigree design. (NOTE: Filigree 1 is being offered on June 11 and June 14 at the same times as Filigree 2; see separate listing.)

WHEN: This class consists of a single meeting; you may choose either of the following two dates:

Session 1: Session 1: Saturday, June 18, 2022, from 2:00 to 5:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time (1 to 4 pm CDT, or 12 noon to 3 pm MDT, or 11 am to 2 pm PDT) Registration/info link for Session 1: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/338284316497

Session 2: Tuesday, June 28, 2022, from 1:00 to 4:00 pm Eastern Daylight Time (12 noon to 3 pm CDT, or 11 am to 2 pm MDT, or 10 am to 1 pm PDT) Registration/info link for Session 2: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/338244276737

Class will be presented live online for a small group, so that students can all get individual feedback, with recordings available to all enrolled students afterward.

FEE: $60.00 (US$)/session

SUPPLIES

Required items: (needed during class)

  • Pencil (PL21)
  • Eraser (E06) or your favorite eraser for pencil lines. (In addition to a more standard eraser, a small one like the Tombow Mono Zero (Round) is helpful. (E22))
  • Ruler, at least 12" long (S270 or S271)
  • Smooth blank white paper of any kind, letter-size or larger, a few sheets (such as Rhodia: P53)
  • Painter’s tape or artist’s tape (S412 or S931)(½" width suggested)
  • Preferred note-taking materials

Optional items: (for during class)

  • Light box or light pad—optional but HIGHLY recommended. This is quite possibly the single most useful tool you can get for the practice of calligraphy. (S1013) (If needed, you can use a window with daylight coming through it instead.)
  • Colored pencils, in red, blue and yellow (PL05)--optional but HIGHLY recommended

Required for finished projects: (to do on your own time after class)

  • Pigma Micron marker, black, size 01 recommended (M17, M133, M134) or similar
  • Pigma Micron marker, red and blue, size 01 recommended (other colors optional) (M21, M134, M133), or similar
  • Metallic gold watercolor (or gouache) paint; #1 recommendation: FineTec (a.k.a. Coliro) brand, Arabic Gold color (S1000 for single pans [get more colors if you like; they're all wonderful!]; also recommended to get a storage box for your pans [if you're not getting a set that already includes a box]: (S999, or S1113)
  • Gouache in bright blue AND bright red (WNG1, WNG2, WNG3, or WNG4; suggested colors: (1) for red: Alizarin Crimson or Primary Red; (2) for blue: Ultramarine or Primary Blue; OR other bright blue and bright red shades of your choice)
  • Small round (pointed) brush, size 0 or smaller (size 000 suggested; you might want several different sizes such as 0, 00, 000, and 0000) (BR26, BR26-S4)
  • Rinse water, in rinse water container (S1005)
  • Paper towels (S817)
  • Watercolor paper, white or off-white, smooth and non-bleeding (at least 8"x10"). Some suggested types: Arches Hot Press (90# or 140#--PS42, PA42 or PS47); Stonehenge (PS110 or PA110); Strathmore Watercolor, Ready-Cut 8"x10" (PA26); Frankfurt (PS108, PS04)
$2.40
Qty.
$4.69
Qty.
$7.99
Qty.
$10.25
Qty.
$5.90
Qty.
$2.99
Qty.
$7.50
Qty.
$11.03 $8.95
Qty.
$15.98 $11.95
Qty.
$6.60 $5.94
Qty.
$5.00 $4.15
Qty.